Meatless Meatball Pasta!

Day 3 of no meat!!! Yayyyyy. Did I ever think I would be going down this path? No. When I joked that I didn’t want to watch Okja because of what it might do to my diet, I was joking! But guess the power of the climate, Sir David Attenborough and Okja has had an effect.

I am trying to keep my mind (and palate) open. So one of the recipes I tried today was a meatless meatball! It was much easier than I expected and I thoroughly enjoyed the meal.

This recipe is adopted from this Chickpea Mushroom Meatball recipe by Molly. I didn’t have breadcrumbs or oats, but substituted with a bit of flour and quinoa. All in all, I was very pleased. Tomato sauce was based on simply a can of San Remo tomatoes! So simple!

Meatball Ingredients:

  • 1 cup of white button mushroom
  • 2/3 cans of chickpea
  • 1/2 a yellow onion
  • 1 tsp of minced garlic
  • 1 tbsp of butter
  • 1 small shredded carrot (1/4 cup)
  • 2 tbsp of flour
  • 2 tbsp of quinoa
  • a handful of parsley
  • 1 egg
  • spices: salt, oregano, aleppo chili powder, red chili flakes, nutrient yeast extract, black pepper

Meatball Instructions:

  • Use food processor to chop up mushroom
  • Cook mushroom with butter until well browned
  • Use food processor to chop up onion
  • Cook onion with butter until well brown (add later than mushroom but can be cooked in the same pan)
  • Add garlic once both mushroom and onion are browned
  • Season mushroom mix with spice mix
  • Remove mixture from pan
  • Pan fry shredded carrots
  • Use food processor to pulse chickpea (not too fine to retain some texture)
  • Mix chickpea with mushroom mixture, carrot, flour, parsley and quinoa until everything evenly distributed
  • Add egg, mix well and shape into balls by hand
  • Pan fry until crispy on all sides
  • Top with 1/2 can of tomato
  • Add additional spice mix to taste along with a small pinch of sugar
  • Mix in some basil
  • Bring in cooked pasta along with some pasta water

Leave a comment